You should interview: “Lukas Lyrestam”

lukas

Lyrestam is a cool passionate swedish guy who is DJ & Producer. We contact him for a little interview and he will be able to respond us to our crazy and weird questions. Lets see what this guy has to say about.

Indamagazine: Tell us your real name and who LUKAS LYRESTAM is?

Lukas Lyrestam: My real name is actually Lukas Lyrestam! Last time I checked he was a passionate guy who makes emotional deep house and boogie.

I: Since when you begin to work as an producer & musician?

LL: I’ve been involved with music for a very long time, since I was about 12 years old I would say. Though it’s been consistent it hasn’t always been focused and I’ve exhausted dreams of being a musical theater actor/singer, heavy metal grindcore guitarist and male choir boy before focusing all my energies on dance music. I’ve been actively making electronic music for about 5 years now.

I: What is your most treasured memory as a child?

LL: All of the memories I’ve got left are treasured I think. I’ve got a particularly strong one of my dad coming home after work and me having built something out of Lego (all multicolored blocks) to show him, a primitive creative urge coming out there maybe?

I: Tell us about your work, what is the purpose of make this kind music instead something else genre?

LL: I’m into dance music because at its core the purpose of the music, is to make people dance. When music takes such a functional approach it prevents it from becoming pretentious and aloof. Within this framework, music becomes simple, stripped back and ultimately completely effective both to dance to and to experience. With my own music I’m trying to communicate elements of emotion, narrative and the daily grind into a club or dance music situation. Using the escapism of clubbing and impact of electronic music to tackle concepts that we experience everyday.

I: What elements do you use for your music?

LL: I use a wide range of techniques stemming from traditional mic’d performances of singers, guitars and keyboards as well as a lot of manipulation within Ableton and traditional sampling and outboard production methods. I prefer to play my synths and drum machines rather then record using MIDI, and I’m firm believer of changing up your techniques regularly. More often than not I find that if I go out of my comfort zone or make a special effort to use an unknown piece of kit I get better results. I find it mysterious and exciting to try new combinations and to try combine production techniques which are unique or undocumented.

lukas2

I: Is there something that you could use as an inspiration for your music? 

LL: A lot of different things are very inspiring to me, everyday life, other music, love and relationships with other people, it changes all the time really. Quite often I find that when I’m making music cultural references from films, TV or literature has an impact on where I’m taking a piece of music and the way I want it to take form. Rather then a particular producer or artist I find myself honing in on a special piece of music they’ve written and I feel inspired by different parts of that music whether it be the arrangement, the instruments they’ve used or an impact the music has on the dance floor.

I: Mention at least 12 artist that you admire it most? 

LL: Prince, Andre Lodemann, Thom Yorke, Moodyman, Johnny Jewel, Wes Anderson, Stanley Kubrick, Jessy Lanza, Tiger & Woods, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Genius of Time, Ryan Gosling.

I: What is your favorite holiday? Why?

LL: I like the summer holidays the most. Almost endless days of freedom where you can really get into doing something creative, share something or meet someone.

I: Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share . . . “

LL: My obsession with rockumentaries, I’m really into watching old videos and documentaries (and reading books) about rock and pop legends, no one else likes it as much as me!

I: What is the greatest thing of your life?

LL: Music is the most natural answer, but I’m also very lucky to be surrounded by so many people that care about me and actively want to get my music out there. I was at a gig recently and a friend of a friend asked me if I realized how much the people around my friends and me are proud of what I try and do. It really made me stop and savior the fact that even when things might seem tough or difficult, people do stand behind someone who is looking to achieve something. It’s not every person’s life to try, and music and be a full-time DJ, but I’m super lucky that people around me are very proud of me for trying it out.

I: Who is your favorite filmmaker?

LL: This just like who’s my favorite DJ changes all the time. I prefer to judge each film on it’s own merits rather then by the reputation of the filmmaker. I’m currently going to say Wes Anderson because of his utterly unique and compelling style. The thing about Wes Anderson is that his movies are always extremely cool (in a slick, sophisticated way) regardless of whatever the subject matter is. Movies like A Life Aquatic, Moonrise Kingdom, Fantastic Mr Fox etc. are completely confident in their own ways. Script-wise he somehow manages to combine extravagant, memorable yet everyday characters with ridiculously charming situations. It’s completely distasteful when a filmmaker becomes too aware of what the public perceives is his or her style is and adjusts his film to accommodate for that. I find that Wes is continuously refining his style and approach, very rarely alluding to the cult impact some of his previous material have had. He also chooses some incredible music for the films, if you have a spare minute please check out the guy who does acoustic guitar covers of David Bowie in Portugese in A Life Aquatic.

I: Do you prefer digital materials or analog materials?

LL: Both have their place in my music; I combine the best of both worlds in order to make music that sounds as good as it possibly can. Coming from a computer generation I use the reliability and structure of a DAW environment for structure and arrangement while analog materials (synths, drum machines, real instruments) are much more inspiring and I use them to spark strong seeds of ideas and to retain a musical spontaneity.

I: Were we can watch & listen your work?

LL: I’ve got an E.P Forthcoming on Oh! Records in the next few weeks, I’m very happy with how it turned out so keep your eyes pealed for that one.

Soundcloud.com/Lukaslyrestam
Facebook.com/lukaslyrestamusic
https://soundcloud.com/oh-records-stockholm

lukas3

Thank You so much for this interview Lukas!

Acerca de IndaMag

We search the best content in design, music, fashion, food, literature and architecture. We are modern alchemists! ≈ L'OR IVIT ≈

Responder

