You should interview: “Dharma Label”

dharmastudio_n

We introduce you a spakling new independent label set to love all things alternative and electronic. Bearing music that makes you feel with all your senses and shoot through your fingers like magic, the Dharma Family adores melodies that are cinematic and present yet yielding and ethereal.

Indamagazine: Tell us your real name and who are part of Dharma Label ?

Dharma Label: My name is David Dougherty (but I’ve been called Dibby my whole life) and I run DhARMA alongside my lovely lady Ciara Wilson. We started this small indie label 2 years ago, as we felt there was so much great music out there and not many labels were interested in these styles. We just wanted to give these cool guys a home for their music, as it really deserved it.

I: Where are you from?
DL: We are both from a small town in Ireland called Derry but we are now living in China, we like to travel a lot and feel life a nomadic life suits us, I think next year we will be living in South America.

I:What is your most treasured memory as a child being a Musician?
DL: I wouldn’t call myself a musician at all, I barely know how to play the keyboard, I wish I could play various instruments but sadly I don’t, I do know how to press buttons on my computer to make strange noises, sometimes these noises sound cool but most of the time they sound awful. Anyways, my most treasured musical memory would probably be the first time I heard ‘The fine young cannibals’. My parents had their album on tape and I can remember constantly playing this tape in the car when being driven to school.

dharma_n
I: Since when you notice dat you had blood for being a Musician?

DL: Again, I am not a musician but I don’t really remember a ‘light bulb’ moment when I was like ‘hey, I wanna be involved in music’ it kinda just happened, I always loved music and had my first set of turntables when i was around 12/13, since then I have just been collecting records and doing gigs and stuff.


I: What is the purpose of make this kind of music instead something else genre?
DL: Well the music I play in my dj sets and what I produce, are a million miles away from what we release on DhARMA. On our label we put out electronica vibes, music we like to listen to during the day, not club music. We chose this style to release as I was sick of techno and house at the time and was really vining off more downtempo records.

I: Tell us about your daily inspirations.
DL: I am inspired by witnessing different cultures, together me and Ciara have travelled to 37 countries on my last count. We are keen backpackers and this is what really keeps us alive.

ablack

I: Do you have any ideology in your life mixed with your work, that you want to share with us?
DL: Travel and be a nice person, simples.

I: What elements do you use for your work?
DL: I am an Apple geek and swear by Logic. Have had a bunch of different hardware over the years but right now as I am in China I am running Logic on a Macbook Pro with a tiny midi keyboard and some studio headphones, a proper portable studio that I can whip out anywhere at anytime. I love taking long train journeys and having full access to the studio while looking out the window.

I: Mention at least 8 artist that you admire it most?
DL: Some amazing musicians I adore… Air, Angelo Badalamenti, Radiohead, Beach House, Bob Dylan, Daft Punk, The Doors, Fleetwood Mac, Hans Zimmer, John Carpenter, Joni Mitchell, The Knife, Michael Giacchino, Mozart, Nils Frahm, The Tallest Man on Earth, The Mamas and the Papas, I could go on all day but I think thats more than 8.

I: What was the last concert you saw?
DL: Beach House, an outdoor gig with amazing weather in Dublin, it was an epic day.

artworkviniles_n

I: Do you prefer digital materials or analog materials?
DL: Analog, but it costs so much…

I: Do you have a cool radio station u want to share?
DL: I don’t listen to the radio, but I follow an awesome indie online radio station called ‘Folk Radio UK.’

I: What gifts did you receive on your last birthday?
DL: I got an R&S Recordings jumper and Jack London’s ‘The Sea Wolf’

aloneartwork

I: What is your favorite food?

DL: I adore a good burger, but they are pretty hard to find in China so my fave food here at the moment is fried noodles from a street vender near our house. They are the bomb.

I: Are you planning to make a tour soon in México? What places would you like to meet of this country?
DL: Next year I will return to Mexico, I am currently planning a road trip from North America to South America with Ciara and our two best friends. I want to make sure I see the Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza, I’m really interested in the history and it’s one of those places you should witness in your lifetime.

I: Is there something you want to share with our audience?
DL: 4-8-15-16-23-42😉

I: What do you think about emerging talents is there enough platforms to spread all this cool music world?
DL: Yeah, Soundcloud is amazing, use it to make friends and share ideas, its a fantastic place for new talents.

I: Were we can watch & listen your work?
DL: I have some music on my own Soundcloud page, and also my DhARMA soundcloud page has our record labels entire catalogue.

artworkdharma_n

Thank you so much for this interview David!

Acerca de IndaMag

We search the best content in design, music, fashion, food, literature and architecture. We are modern alchemists! ≈ L'OR IVIT ≈

Un Comentario

  1. Pingback: You should interview: “Room4Space” | Indamagazine

Responder

