You should interview: “BEN MACKLIN”

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Schooled by the pioneers of electronic music, Ben came to prominence originally as one half of Sucker DJ’s. Mixing disco, house and electronica together – Ben & Stretch toured extensively and received acclaim for their distinctive style. His Cassette Club project has received acclaim since their 2009 debut on Eye Industries, and after their first single, he went on to remix Passion Pit, Taio Cruz, Natalie Imbruglia and Florence & The Machine. With tracks and remixes on his own Modal imprint, as well as a Cassette Club Album in 2014, Ben also continues to play live sets across Europe, and plays at his various residencies in the UK.

Indamagazine: Tell us your real name and who is BEN MACKLIN? Tell us about your collaboration in MODAL RECORDINGS…

BEN MACKLIN: Modal is my own label which I initially started 2 years ago so I could release one of our Cassette Club tracks – ‘Flash’. Ive been signed to a lot of labels in the past and wanted more control over how my music was released and managed. Im quite particular about how my music, artwork and videos are presented, and having your own output for releases gives you that control. Since then ive managed to get some of my favourite artists to remix tracks for the label, and we’ve got a lot more to come which is exciting.

I: Where are you from?

BM: Im from Kent, which is just outside London in the UK.

I: What is your most treasured memory as a child being a Musician?

BM: Musically ive always been into electronic music, so I had keyboard lessons when I was young. I don’t know If that’s a thing anymore, but it was different to piano lessons as it was more about chords, progressions and patterns. I didn’t last very long as I got bored of playing basic chords every week, but I would always sit at my keyboard and try and work out how to play tracks I liked.

I: Since when you notice that you had blood for being a Musician?

BM: I’ve really only been interested in the production side of music, even though I can play keyboards. We always had instruments around the house when I was young, so never thought being in music was something you couldn’t do.

I: What is the purpose of make this kind of music instead something else genre?

BM: Most of my favourite music is either House/Soul/Electronic, so most of my tracks combine those elements somewhere. The good thing about the way the music industry is now, is that there are so many sub genres. If I want to make a 100bpm track I can, without worrying about where it fits. I think usually people can hear a common thread through my tracks sound wise.

I: Do you have any ideology in your life mixed with your work, that you want to share with us?

BM: I always want to produce something that I like listening to, that isn’t tainted by what other people might like. Ironically that usually means you make something other people WILL like. People can tell if you’re trying to please someone else.

I: What elements do you use for your work?

BM: I don’t use any hardware these days, I like to be able to work anywhere and always find analog synths slow me down, even though they sound great. A lot of plug ins are so good now that you don’t need a lot of outboard.

I: Do you prefer digital materials or analog materials?

BM: Im a big fan of digital, purely because ive never really used analog gear. I like the sound you get from analog gear, but equally I like the clean sound of digital.

I: Mention at least 8 artist that you admire it most? 

BM: The artists I admire most and inspire me are Michael Jackson, Daft Punk, Prince, Jam & Lewis, Quincy Jones. At the moment some of my favourites are Classixx, Moon Boots, Todd Terje & Tensnake.

picsquare
I: Are you planning to make a tour soon in México? What places would you like to meet of this country?

BM: Ive always wanted to come to Mexico obviously, hopefully I’ll get the chance soon.

I: What do you think about emerging talents is there enough platforms to spread all this cool music world?

BM: There are so many platforms to spread new music globally, its just a case of how to get it to people. I think that usually if your work is any good, people will get to know about it, and will share it between themselves. You can find people that like your music or genre, much more so than 20 years ago.

I: Where we can watch & listen your work?

BM: You can listen to my music on

Soundcloud at > https://soundcloud.com/benmacklin,

also check the Modal Youtube Channel at > http://www.youtube.com/user/ModalMedia.

and you can chat to me on twitter too > https://twitter.com/Ben_Macklin

image-2

Thank your for this itw Ben!

 

Acerca de IndaMag

We search the best content in design, music, fashion, food, literature and architecture. We are modern alchemists! ≈ L'OR IVIT ≈

Responder

